[ View Full Version Of This Page ]

Is This Spam?

All Forums » Off Topic » Is This Spam?

Scubba.steve
2/10/2008 7:29:39 AM
PEUGEOT AUTOMOBILES LOTTERY
Essex , PE9 2YP , London
**** Kingdom.



This is to inform you that you have won a cash prize of
£300,000.00(Three Hundred Thousand Great British Pounds) and a
brand new Peugeot 407 Car,From the International online programs held
on the 9th of Febraury 2008 in
London, **** Kingdom.

To begin the processing of your prize you are to contact the remittance
department with the email address provided
below:

Sir Paul Wilson,
E-mail: pga212@hotmail.com
Tel: +447011140026

Contact him with your secret pin code xxxxxxxxxx and your reference
number PGA: xxxxxxxxxxx.You are also advised to
provide him with the under

listed information as soon as possible:

Claims Requirements:
1. Name in full:
2. Address:
3. Sex:
4. Nationality/Religion:
5. Age:
6. Next Of Kin:
7. Occupation:
8. Phone/Fax:
9. Present Country:
Congratulations once again!

With Best Regard's
Mr. Dominic Gerard
Lottery Manager.
bestwiseguy
2/10/2008 7:44:14 AM
I'm sure it either spam, or a scam. 
TheEngineer
2/10/2008 7:46:02 AM
Dude that is 100% scam writen all over it.
TheAdvocate
2/10/2008 7:46:43 AM
Wish I could delete this myself...
Renzo
2/10/2008 9:22:54 AM
lol i remember trying to answer to those when i was 14. i still get emails like that from time to time
Sebba
2/10/2008 10:06:12 AM
I usually write back...
 
"Go **** yourself you dirty nigerian c unt"
 
Sometimes I play along for a while.... lol
lhausi2
2/10/2008 10:19:24 AM
Yeah I love those scams, all they need is ur social and bank account number and they'll transfer 3 billion into your account,lol
Sebba
2/10/2008 10:24:35 AM
Better yet.... call the number lol
Renzo
2/10/2008 10:33:32 AM
pretty much anything u win on the internet is a scam. half the stuff u win in the mail too
Sanguinius
2/11/2008 9:34:00 PM
First clue is the BRITISH POUNDS. The UK uses Euros as their currency now along with the rest of the European countries. So any message saying you won Pounds, Lira, Duestchmarks or any other old currency can obviously be ignored as an OLD unupdated and continually circulated scam.

Second, why would they pick an American winner and pay the outrageous shipping costs to send you one single car? They wouldn't. You'd be contacted by the American Peugot partners and it'd be settled on US soil not originating from the UK.

Third is how they want all your personal information. None of that should be necessay to win a prize and you should never provide half that info except in the case of be present at a drawing where you see the prize and it will be handed to you after the proper forms are filled out.

Fourth, look at the items they ask you for. Next of Kin? Why would a lotto need next of kin if they are handing a living person a lump sum? They don't. They are hoping you'll give your mother's name and that it is used for most if not all your security questions. Not to mention that they can then open accounts in the same manner using your mother's name claiming it as her maiden name for security purposes.

And finally, What automobile company actually as a position titled "Lottery Manager"??? Sorry but I don't know of any company except the actual Lottery that has such a title in existence. So if those few items don't point out that this is a complete and total fraud, then you're blind and bound to get taken advantage of.

At least we were here to help you on this one ;)

Just remember, NOTHING in life is free. They don't randomly know your name for a drawing. You'd have to enter and if that were the case then they'd already have your address and phone number thus wouldn't ask for it.

Try to stay safe eh?
Sebba
2/11/2008 10:25:32 PM
They DO NOT use euros you tard
SCmitsuchic
2/12/2008 8:27:47 AM
you can take it a step further dude "If you get spam email that you think is deceptive, forward it to spam@uce.gov. The FTC uses the spam stored in this database to pursue law enforcement actions against people who send deceptive email." There have been so many of those things going around lately.. and they're actually  GETTING people's info.. so here at my job they tell us to forward the emails to the police and the police forward them to the gov.. (I work at a state university) so even tho I always just delete them it may be a good idea to report.
shreff99
2/12/2008 11:18:36 AM
S-C-A-M!! Not too long ago, someone e-mailed our dealership looking for a New Mercury Montego/Sable as a wedding gift for his son...sounded legit at first...so my boss wanted to work on it with me since it was sent to his e-mail account and we worked some numbers up for him on a couple of cars we had in stock at the time...First of all, the e-mail started out saying that "this is Dr. Smith,...." and then at the end of the e-mail it was signed "Dr. Johnson"...sounded weird at first but we went with it for a cou-ple of days and he said he would take the Sable...he was going to put $3000 down OK but the dirver who was going to be sent to pick the car up would give us a check for $5000 and we cut him back a check for $2000.....and so on..Needless to say we caught on and told the guy if he was interested in purchasing a car to come over himself, do all the paper work, give us the correct amount of the down payment and WE would deliver the car for him since we have a flatbed...well he never came over...so hmmmmmmm!!

[ View Full Version Of This Page ]

Return to the Mitsubishi Forum home page - Archive Home